

# Second announcement

Dear Colleagues,

We would like to remind you that the 7<sup>th</sup> **International Symposium on Nuclear Symmetry Energy (NuSYM17)** will be held on September 4-7, 2017 at GANIL, Caen, France.

The purpose of NuSYM17 consists of discussing advances in experimental and theoretical studies of the nuclear equation of state of asymmetric nuclear matter and relevant advances in astrophysics. An important role of the symposium is to unify efforts of the nuclear physics and astrophysics communities in addressing common research challenges.

The program will cover the current state of research and the anticipated development trends in various centers and facilities in the world. The symposium, while providing a convenient space and time for discussions of burning problems future directions, will also offer opportunities to build collaborations to advance in inter-related research fields.

## **NuSYM17** will cover the following topics:

- progress in experimental investigations of the nuclear EoS.
- status of theories of the nuclear reactions and of the asymmetric nuclear matter,
- influence of the symmetry term on the structure of objects and processes in the Femto and astro scales.
- correlations and clusterization in dense, normal and dilute nuclear matter,
- new facilities and instruments.

### **Invited speakers**

China Lie-Wen Chen Shanghai Univ Maria Colonna **INFN-Catane** Italy Dan Cozma IFIN-HH Romania Pawel Danielewicz MSU **USA** Christoph Hartnack **Subatech-Nantes** France **Byungsik Hong** South Korea Korea University-Seoul Tadaaki Isobe RIKEN Japan Che-Ming Ko Texas A&M University USA Arnaud Le Fèvre GSI Germany **Yvonne Leifels** GSI Germany Jerzy Lukasik **INP-Krakow** Poland Bill Lynch MSU **USA** Olivier Lopez LPC-Caen France Alan Mc Intosh **USA** Texas A&M University Paolo Napolitani **IPN-Orsay** France Akira Ono Tohoku university Iapan

Angelo Pagano INFN- Catania Italy Kent Paschke Univ. of Virginia **USA** Paolo Russotto **INFN-Catania** Italy **Betty Tsang** MSU USA Stefan Typel GSI Germany Giuseppe Verde **IPN-Orsav** France Yongjia Wang **Huzhou University** China Jack Winkelbauer LANL USA Hermann Wolter Munich Germany **Zhigang Xiao** Tsinghua Univ. -Beijing China Jun Xu SINAP (Shanghai) China Sherry Yennello Texas A&M University USA Gao-Chan Yong (\*) INP-Lanzhou China Yingxun Zhang **CIAE-Beijing** China

(\*) to be confirmed

## Registration

Registration deadline has been postponed up to August 11th 2017. Please register on the conference webpage: <a href="https://nusym17.sciencesconf.org/">https://nusym17.sciencesconf.org/</a>

The conference registration fee will be 120€, including coffee breaks, lunches and social dinner. There will be no fee for undergraduate students and PhD students and a charge of 50€ for accompanying person.

An excursion and guided visit of D-day landing beaches and Norman cider house are scheduled on Wednesday 6<sup>th</sup> September 2017 afternoon. The practical information and registration will be sent after the registration deadline.

Payment has to be made on the following link (**no later than August 28**<sup>th</sup> **2017**): http://pro.ganil-spiral2.eu/events/creditcard-direct-payment

### **Accommodation and travel**

Information on lodging and travel is available on our website.

In order to get cheaper price for your hotel, please specify that you come for NUSYM.

### Contact

We would appreciate if you could bring this Symposium to attention of your colleagues. Participation of young researchers is strongly encouraged.

You can contact us at the following address: NUSYM17@GANIL.fr

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need an invitation letter for visa application.

The Organizing Committee

#### INTERNATIONAL SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE

Maria Colonna (INFN, LNS)
Byungsik Hong (Korea University)
Yvonne Leifels (GSI)
Jerzy Lukasik (IFJ-PAN)
Angelo Pagano (INFN Catania)
Betty Tsang (MSU/NSCL)
Hermann Wolter (Univ. Munich)
Sherry Yennello (Texas A&M)

Pawel Danielewicz (MSU)
Charles Horowitz (Indiana Univ.)
Bao-An Li (TAMU-Commerce)
Akira Ono (Tohoku University)
Wolfgang Trautmann (GSI)
Giuseppe Verde (IPN-Orsay, INFN Catania)
Zhigang Xiao (Tsinghua University, Beijing)

#### LOCAL ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

Abdelouahad Chbihi (GANIL)
Rémi Bougault (LPC-Caen)
John D. Frankland (GANIL)
Myriam Grar (GANIL) Administrative secretary.
Sabrina Lecerf-Rossard (GANIL) Administrative secretary.